Among these electric pruning shears, I rank the DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Pruner Kit as the best overall for buyers who want a recognizable battery platform and a complete kit. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Pruner Kit is a strong alternative for existing V20 users, while the MODOFO 2.1-Inch model suits buyers who put wider cutting capacity ahead of compact handling. The main tradeoffs are cutting capacity versus control, included batteries versus compatibility with tools you already own, and handheld convenience versus pole reach. This roundup compares those differences across all 15 options, including combo and pole tools. Continue reading for the full breakdown and guidance on matching a pruner to your trees, shrubs, and workload.
Get garden gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Battery-platform kits stand apart: DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN include a battery and charger, while the DeWalt-compatible generic model makes more sense if you already own compatible batteries.
- Cut capacity changes the use case: The MODOFO 2.1-inch model targets thicker branches, while several 1.4-inch options are better matched to routine shrub and orchard pruning within their stated limits.
- Two batteries and spare blades address downtime: ANTTCTIG and other multi-battery or replacement-blade bundles focus on keeping a longer pruning session moving, though buyers should check blade availability and upkeep.
- Reach and versatility add compromises: Pole pruners and the Seesii mini chainsaw combo can handle jobs beyond a standard handheld shear, but they are less direct choices for simple, precise hand pruning.
- Displays and brushless motors are not the whole decision: These features can help with monitoring or motor design, but fit, rated capacity, battery support, and maintenance matter more to choosing a suitable tool.
| Saker Cordless Electric Pruning Shears, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity | ![]() | Best for Battery Swapping | Cutting capacity: 1.4 inches (35 mm) | Motor: Brushless | Blade: 2.1-inch hardened-steel convex bypass blade | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ANTTCTIG Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with 2 Batteries and Spare Blades | ![]() | Best for Heavy-Duty Cutting Capacity | Maximum stated cutting capacity: 70 mm (2.75 inches); product information also lists a 2-inch cutting width | Motor: 700W brushless | Blade material: SK7 high-carbon steel | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Pruner Kit with 4 Ah Battery and Charger | ![]() | Best for Extended Pruning Sessions | Cut capacity: 1.5 inches | Cuts per charge: Up to 1,100 | Tool weight: 3 pounds without battery | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Seesii 2-in-1 Mini Chainsaw and Pruning Shears Combo | ![]() | Best Multi-Tool Yard Kit | Tools: 6-inch cordless mini chainsaw and electric pruning shears | Motors: Brushless; 600W chainsaw and 800W pruner | Pruner cutting modes: 15 mm, 20 mm, and 30 mm | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with Telescopic Pole | ![]() | Best for Long-Reach Pruning | Cutting capacities: 1.6 inches and 2.1 inches | Pole length: Up to 9 feet (2.7 m) | Motor: Brushless | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Cordless Electric Pruning Shears for DeWalt 20V Batteries, 1.8-Inch Cut Capacity | ![]() | Best for DeWalt 20V Owners | Battery compatibility: DeWalt 20V MAX | Battery included: No | Cutting modes: 1.2 inches and 1.8 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Electric Pruner Kit with Battery and Charger | ![]() | Best Ready-to-Use Kit | Model: CMCPR320C1 | Cut capacity: 1.25 inches | Blade length: 4 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SEESII Cordless Electric Pruning Shears, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity | ![]() | Best for Extended Pruning Sessions | Maximum cutting capacity: 1.4 inches | Cutting modes: 2 | Battery: Two 2000mAh batteries | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with LCD Display, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity, Brushless Motor, Two Batteries and Replacement Blade | ![]() | Best for Cut-Count Tracking | Cutting capacity: Up to 1.4 inches | Cutting modes: 0.98 inches and 1.4 inches | Motor: 450W brushless | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| FUTRRA Electric Pruning Shears | ![]() | Best for Simple, One-Handed Pruning | Model: Eps-01 | Maximum cutting diameter: 1.2 inches | Blade type: Bypass | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| VOTREK Electric Pruning Shears with Battery | ![]() | Best for Wide Cutting Range | Motor: 600W brushless | Blade material: Teflon-coated SK5 high-carbon steel | Cutting modes: 0.71 inches and up to 1.6 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with LCD Display, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity, and Two Batteries | ![]() | Best for Battery Planning | Motor: 450W brushless | Cutting capacity: Up to 1.4 inches | Adjustable cutting sizes: 0.98 inches and 1.4 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruning Shears, 2.1-Inch Cutting Capacity | ![]() | Best for Thick Branches | Cutting modes: 1.6 inches and 2.1 inches | Motor: Brushless | Batteries: Two rechargeable 2.0 Ah batteries | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ANTTCTIG Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with 2 Batteries and Spare Blade | ![]() | Best for Long Pruning Sessions | Adjustable opening sizes: 1.97 inches and 2.56 inches | Motor: Brushless | Blade type: Bypass | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SEESII 2-in-1 Cordless Electric Pole Pruning Shears, 1.6-Inch Cutting Capacity | ![]() | Best for High-Reach Pruning | Cutting capacity: 1.6 inches | Pole length: 4.9–9 feet | Rotating head: 180 degrees | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| electric pruning shear | Motor | Batteries | Blade material | Display |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saker Cordless Electric Prunin | Brushless | Two rechargeable 2000mAh batteries | — | — |
| ANTTCTIG Cordless Electric Pru | 700W brushless | Two 21V, 2000mAh rechargeable batteries | SK7 high-carbon steel | LED display for cutting time and remaining power |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Pruner | — | — | High-speed steel | — |
| Seesii 2-in-1 Mini Chainsaw an | — | Two 2000mAh lithium batteries | — | — |
| MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruni | Brushless | Two 2.0Ah batteries | — | Trim count and remaining battery |
| Cordless Electric Pruning Shea | Brushless | — | — | LCD for cut count and remaining battery life |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Electri | — | — | — | — |
| SEESII Cordless Electric Pruni | Brushless | — | — | — |
| Cordless Electric Pruning Shea | 450W brushless | — | — | LCD battery level and cut count |
| FUTRRA Electric Pruning Shears | — | — | Hardened steel and stainless steel | — |
| VOTREK Electric Pruning Shears | 600W brushless | — | Teflon-coated SK5 high-carbon steel | Battery level and cut count |
| MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruni | 450W brushless | Two 2,000 mAh batteries | SK5 high-carbon steel | LCD with battery level and cut count |
| MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruni | Brushless | Two rechargeable 2.0 Ah batteries | High-carbon steel | LCD showing battery level and cutting counts |
| ANTTCTIG Cordless Electric Pru | Brushless | Two rechargeable 2.0 Ah batteries | SK7 stated in description; SK5 also stated in product information | LED battery level and cutting count |
| SEESII 2-in-1 Cordless Electri | Brushless | Two 4.0Ah batteries | High-carbon SK5 steel | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Saker Cordless Electric Pruning Shears, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity
The Saker is a straightforward pick for gardeners who want cordless reach and a spare battery ready for longer pruning sessions. Its 1.4-inch bypass capacity suits routine shrub and small-branch work, while the brushless motor is a more purposeful setup than a basic motor for repeated cuts. Two rechargeable batteries and a carrying case add practical value for moving between beds or storing the tool. Compared with the lighter DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Pruner Kit, the Saker emphasizes having a second battery included rather than a stated cuts-per-charge figure. The tradeoff is substantial: at 5.7 pounds, it is heavier than the DEWALT tool’s listed 3 pounds before its battery, and Saker does not specify runtime. I’d choose it for battery flexibility, not for all-day overhead pruning.
Pros:- Two rechargeable batteries allow a swap instead of stopping to recharge.
- 1.4-inch cutting capacity covers many routine garden branches.
- Brushless motor is suited to repeated pruning work.
- Carrying case helps with storage and transport.
Cons:- Listed 5.7-pound weight may cause fatigue during extended or overhead use.
- Battery runtime is not specified, making session planning harder.
Best for: Gardeners doing repeated pruning around a yard who want two batteries included and a case for transport.
Not ideal for: Users with limited hand or arm strength, or anyone prioritizing low weight and a clearly stated runtime.
- Cutting capacity:1.4 inches (35 mm)
- Motor:Brushless
- Blade:2.1-inch hardened-steel convex bypass blade
- Batteries:Two rechargeable 2000mAh batteries
- Weight:5.7 pounds
- Dimensions:13 × 9.5 inches (L × W)
- Handle:Plastic and rubber
- Included:Carrying case and user manual
Our verdict“Choose the Saker if a spare battery and carrying case matter more to you than low tool weight or documented runtime.”
ANTTCTIG Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with 2 Batteries and Spare Blades
ANTTCTIG makes the boldest capacity claim in this group: up to 70 mm (2.75 inches), paired with a 700W brushless motor. That could appeal to gardeners dealing with thicker growth who want more headroom than the Saker’s 1.4-inch limit or the DEWALT kit’s 1.5-inch rating. The kit also includes two batteries, replacement blades, sharpening tools, and a display for cutting time and remaining power, giving owners more maintenance and charge information than many simpler shears provide. I would treat the capacity claim cautiously, though: the supplied product information also lists a 2-inch cutting width, so the maximum is not consistent. Its safety trigger sequence and auto-sleep are useful safeguards, but the sharp blade still calls for careful handling and upkeep. This is the high-capacity pick, not the clearest or most conservative specification.
Pros:- High stated maximum capacity offers more headroom than the Saker and DEWALT models.
- 700W brushless motor is designed for demanding cutting work.
- Two batteries and replacement blades are included.
- LED display shows cutting time and remaining battery power.
Cons:- Product information conflicts between a 70 mm maximum and a 2-inch cutting-width listing.
- High-carbon steel blades require careful handling and regular maintenance.
- No tool weight or battery runtime is provided.
Best for: Experienced gardeners managing thicker branches who want spare blades, two batteries, and on-tool battery information.
Not ideal for: Beginners seeking a clearly verified cutting limit or gardeners who mainly prune small stems and want a simpler tool.
- Maximum stated cutting capacity:70 mm (2.75 inches); product information also lists a 2-inch cutting width
- Motor:700W brushless
- Blade material:SK7 high-carbon steel
- Batteries:Two 21V, 2000mAh rechargeable batteries
- Display:LED display for cutting time and remaining power
- Safety features:Two quick trigger pulls to start; auto-sleep after one minute of inactivity
- Handle:Nylon and rubber
- Included accessories:Replacement blades, sharpening stone, wrench set, adapter, gloves, and storage case
Our verdict“Pick ANTTCTIG for its ambitious capacity and maintenance accessories, but only if you are comfortable with the conflicting cut-size information.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Pruner Kit with 4 Ah Battery and Charger
The DEWALT kit is the most session-focused choice here, pairing a 4 Ah battery with a stated output of up to 1,100 cuts per charge. That gives buyers a clearer basis for planning a large trimming job than the Saker, whose runtime is unspecified. Its 1.5-inch capacity sits close to the Saker’s 1.4 inches, so this is not the pick for the thickest branches; the advantage is the stated cut count and a 3-pound tool weight before the battery. That weight is not the complete working weight, and the battery adds to it, but the tool-only figure still makes it the lighter-listed option compared with Saker’s 5.7 pounds. The plastic handle is less reassuring for those seeking a more substantial grip. I’d favor this kit for repeated garden cuts, not maximum branch diameter.
Pros:- Up to 1,100 cuts per charge gives a useful session-planning reference.
- Includes a 20V MAX 4 Ah battery and charger.
- Three-pound tool-only weight is lower than the Saker’s listed 5.7 pounds.
- 1.5-inch capacity handles common stems and branches.
Cons:- The 3-pound figure excludes the battery, so working weight is higher.
- 1.5-inch cutting capacity is lower than ANTTCTIG’s stated maximum.
- Plastic handle may feel less substantial than a rubberized grip.
Best for: Gardeners tackling long pruning sessions who value a stated cuts-per-charge figure and a battery and charger in the kit.
Not ideal for: Anyone routinely cutting branches thicker than 1.5 inches or choosing a tool based on complete, battery-installed weight.
- Cut capacity:1.5 inches
- Cuts per charge:Up to 1,100
- Tool weight:3 pounds without battery
- Battery:20V MAX 4 Ah lithium-ion
- Blade material:High-speed steel
- Handle:Plastic
- Hand orientation:Ambidextrous
- Included:Charger, battery, and tool for blade change
Our verdict“Choose the DEWALT kit for a clearer long-session battery benchmark and a comparatively light tool, rather than for oversized branches.”
Seesii 2-in-1 Mini Chainsaw and Pruning Shears Combo
The Seesii set earns its place by adding a 6-inch mini chainsaw alongside electric pruning shears, so one kit can handle both small precise cuts and larger branches or logs. The pruner offers 15 mm, 20 mm, and 30 mm modes, a more graduated approach than the Saker’s single listed 1.4-inch capacity. At 2.31 pounds, the pruning shears are also listed lighter than the Saker, though the kit includes two separate tools rather than one pruning-focused package. Two batteries serve the set, and accessories such as chains, gloves, and a sharpening rod support upkeep. The compromise is that this is a broader, more involved kit, and its batteries are 2000mAh each. I’d choose it when the chainsaw will see real use; for pruning alone, the DEWALT kit is the more focused option.
Pros:- Combines pruning shears and a 6-inch mini chainsaw for different cutting tasks.
- Three pruning modes provide a smaller-cut option as well as a 30 mm setting.
- Two batteries and a fast charger are included.
- Pruning shears weigh a listed 2.31 pounds.
Cons:- The 2000mAh batteries may require charging or swapping during longer work.
- The pruning shear’s largest listed mode is 30 mm, below the Saker’s 35 mm capacity.
- Extra tool and accessories add complexity for buyers who only need pruning shears.
Best for: Home gardeners who need both powered pruning shears and a compact chainsaw for branches or logs up to 6 inches.
Not ideal for: Buyers who only need pruning shears, want a single-tool setup, or need a higher-capacity pruner than its 30 mm mode.
- Tools:6-inch cordless mini chainsaw and electric pruning shears
- Motors:Brushless; 600W chainsaw and 800W pruner
- Pruner cutting modes:15 mm, 20 mm, and 30 mm
- Chainsaw cutting capacity:Up to 6 inches
- Chainsaw cutting speed:23 ft/s
- Batteries:Two 2000mAh lithium batteries
- Weight:Pruner 2.31 pounds; chainsaw 3.3 pounds
- Included accessories:Tool bag, gloves, two chains, sharpening rod, oil bottle, charger, hex wrench, screwdriver, and manual
Our verdict“Buy the Seesii combo if you will use both tools; for pruning-only work, its extra chainsaw is unnecessary kit.”
MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with Telescopic Pole
MODOFO’s defining advantage is reach: the shears can be used by hand or fitted to a telescopic pole extending up to 9 feet, helping trim higher growth without positioning a ladder for every cut. Its two cutting modes, 1.6 inches and 2.1 inches, give it more stated capacity than the DEWALT kit’s 1.5 inches, while a brushless motor and two 2.0Ah batteries support cordless work. A display tracks trim count and remaining battery, which is handy for keeping tabs on a session. The listed 150 g item weight needs caution, however, because it may not represent the complete pole-and-battery assembly; overhead handling can feel very different from the number on its own. Compared with the Seesii combo, this is the more targeted choice for elevated pruning, but it does not add a chainsaw for larger ground-level cuts.
Pros:- Telescopic pole extends up to 9 feet for elevated pruning.
- Two cutting modes offer 1.6-inch and 2.1-inch settings.
- Two 2.0Ah batteries and a spare blade are included.
- Display tracks trim count and remaining battery.
Cons:- The 150 g listed weight may not include the full pole-and-battery setup.
- No runtime or complete assembled weight is provided.
- Unlike the Seesii combo, it does not include a chainsaw for larger ground-level cuts.
Best for: Gardeners who regularly trim tall shrubs or reachable branches and want to switch between handheld and pole-mounted use.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a confirmed complete working weight, primarily cut thick ground-level wood, or do not need extra reach.
- Cutting capacities:1.6 inches and 2.1 inches
- Pole length:Up to 9 feet (2.7 m)
- Motor:Brushless
- Batteries:Two 2.0Ah batteries
- Blade:High-carbon steel bypass blade
- Display:Trim count and remaining battery
- Listed item weight:150 g; complete pole-and-battery weight is not specified
- Included accessories:Spare blade, charging adapter, gloves, safety goggles, and user manual
Our verdict“Choose MODOFO if elevated pruning is your main challenge, but verify the complete pole setup’s weight before planning extended overhead work.”
Cordless Electric Pruning Shears for DeWalt 20V Batteries, 1.8-Inch Cut Capacity
For gardeners already invested in DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, this model pairs a useful 1.8-inch maximum cut with two modes, so smaller branches need not call for the wider setting. Its brushless motor and SK5 bypass blade make it a more capable choice for heavier pruning than the CRAFTSMAN V20 pruner, which tops out at 1.25 inches. The LCD adds practical feedback by showing battery status and cut count, while the replacement blade and guard help round out the kit.
The tradeoff is that no battery is included, so it makes less sense as a first cordless tool or for buyers without a compatible pack. Its cutting capacity also remains below larger-capacity options elsewhere in the roundup. I’d choose it for existing DeWalt users who want more reach for branch diameter without buying into another battery platform.
Pros:- Two cutting modes cover branches up to 1.8 inches.
- Compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, avoiding a separate battery platform for existing owners.
- LCD shows remaining battery life and cut count.
- Includes a replacement SK5 blade and transparent full-coverage guard.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- The 1.8-inch limit may not suit buyers who need to cut larger branches.
- Its usefulness depends on owning or acquiring a compatible DeWalt battery.
Best for: Gardeners who already own DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and regularly prune branches larger than 1.25 inches.
Not ideal for: New cordless-tool buyers or anyone without a compatible DeWalt battery, since the battery must be supplied separately.
- Battery compatibility:DeWalt 20V MAX
- Battery included:No
- Cutting modes:1.2 inches and 1.8 inches
- Maximum cutting width:1.8 inches
- Motor:Brushless
- Blade:SK5 high-carbon steel bypass blade
- Display:LCD for cut count and remaining battery life
- Included accessories:Replacement blade, blade guard, accessory pouch, user manual, gift box
Our verdict“Choose this model if you own DeWalt 20V batteries and want a higher cut capacity than the CRAFTSMAN V20 pruner offers.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Electric Pruner Kit with Battery and Charger
The CRAFTSMAN V20 is the straightforward pick for buyers who want a battery and charger in the box rather than a tool that depends on an existing battery platform. It handles wet or dry wood up to 1.25 inches and is rated for up to 900 cuts per charge, making it a practical match for routine garden maintenance. Tool-free blade changes are a useful contrast with kits that include a spare blade but do not specify how quickly it can be swapped.
Capacity is its clear limit: the DeWalt-compatible shears in this lineup reach 1.8 inches, and the SEESII model reaches 1.4 inches. The included 1.5Ah battery may also feel modest for larger jobs, even with the stated cut count. I’d favor this pruner for ordinary pruning and buyers who want a self-contained kit, not for thick or demanding branch work.
Pros:- Includes a V20 1.5Ah battery and charger.
- Cuts wet or dry wood up to 1.25 inches.
- Rated for up to 900 cuts per charge.
- Blades can be changed without extra tools, and the battery works with CRAFTSMAN V20 tools.
Cons:- Its 1.25-inch capacity is lower than the DeWalt-compatible and SEESII options in this group.
- The included battery capacity is 1.5Ah.
- The stated cutting rate is up to one cut per second, which may feel slow for fast-paced work.
Best for: Home gardeners who want a ready-to-use pruner kit for routine wet- and dry-wood trimming, without needing a separate battery purchase.
Not ideal for: People pruning branches above 1.25 inches or tackling long sessions where a larger-capacity battery would be preferable.
- Model:CMCPR320C1
- Cut capacity:1.25 inches
- Blade length:4 inches
- Blade type and material:Bypass, high-speed steel
- Battery:V20 1.5Ah lithium-ion
- Cuts per charge:Up to 900
- Cutting rate:Up to 1 cut per second
- Included components:Pruner, battery, charger, blade set
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick the CRAFTSMAN if you want a complete kit for ordinary pruning and do not need the wider cuts offered by the DeWalt-compatible shears.”
SEESII Cordless Electric Pruning Shears, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity
The SEESII’s strongest advantage is its two included 2000mAh batteries, which make it a more session-ready option than the CRAFTSMAN V20 kit with its single 1.5Ah battery. Its brushless motor, SK5 bypass blade, and two cutting modes suit mixed garden work, while the hard case keeps the tool and accessories together between jobs. A stated capacity of 1.4 inches covers a broader range of routine branches than the CRAFTSMAN’s 1.25-inch limit.
That capacity still falls short of the DeWalt-compatible model’s 1.8 inches, so I wouldn’t choose this for frequent thick-branch pruning. The listed weight is about 2 pounds, which may become noticeable during extended overhead work. The kit also includes an oil pot without oil. This is a sensible fit for gardeners who value spare-battery coverage and a packed accessory set over maximum cutting width.
Pros:- Includes two 2000mAh batteries for extended work between charging breaks.
- Two cutting modes accommodate different branch sizes.
- Brushless motor and SK5 high-carbon steel bypass blade.
- Hard case, replacement blade, fast charger, and tool kit are included.
Cons:- Maximum cutting capacity is 1.4 inches, below the DeWalt-compatible model’s 1.8 inches.
- Listed weight is about 2 pounds, which may tire users during prolonged overhead pruning.
- The included oil pot is empty.
Best for: Gardeners who want two batteries and a hard case for longer maintenance sessions involving branches up to 1.4 inches.
Not ideal for: Buyers who routinely cut branches thicker than 1.4 inches or want the lighter listed weight of a compact hand pruner.
- Maximum cutting capacity:1.4 inches
- Cutting modes:2
- Battery:Two 2000mAh batteries
- Cuts per charge:2000+
- Motor:Brushless
- Blade:Convex-edge SK5 high-carbon steel bypass blade
- Weight:About 2 pounds
- Dimensions:12.6 × 3.15 inches
- Included accessories:Fast charger, replacement blade, tool kit, glove, empty oil pot, manual, hard case
Our verdict“Choose the SEESII over the single-battery CRAFTSMAN if you value spare-battery coverage and a case more than the widest cut capacity.”
Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with LCD Display, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity, Brushless Motor, Two Batteries and Replacement Blade
This model makes the most sense for gardeners who want on-tool feedback during a pruning session. Its LCD displays battery level and cut count, while the two 2,000mAh batteries provide a spare for longer work. Two settings—0.98 and 1.4 inches—let the user favor smaller cuts or open the blades wider, and sleep mode is designed to reduce battery drain when the tool is idle.
Compared with the SEESII, it offers similar maximum capacity and two batteries, but its listed kit emphasizes the display, storage box, and sharpening stone. The SEESII supplies a hard case and glove instead. The product data does not specify battery voltage, which makes platform compatibility harder to judge, and the plastic, rubber, and nylon handle materials may not appeal to buyers seeking a more substantial grip. I’d select it for feature-focused home pruning, not for the widest cuts.
Pros:- LCD shows battery level and cut count.
- Two 2,000mAh rechargeable batteries are included.
- Two cutting settings provide a narrower option and a 1.4-inch maximum.
- Includes a replacement blade set, sharpening stone, and storage box.
Cons:- The battery voltage is not specified in the product data.
- Maximum capacity is 1.4 inches, below the DeWalt-compatible model’s 1.8 inches.
- Handle materials are listed as plastic, rubber, and nylon.
Best for: Gardeners who want to track battery status and cut count while keeping a spare battery ready for branches up to 1.4 inches.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified battery platform, greater than 1.4-inch capacity, or a handle made from more substantial materials.
- Cutting capacity:Up to 1.4 inches
- Cutting modes:0.98 inches and 1.4 inches
- Motor:450W brushless
- Blade:SK5 high-carbon steel bypass blade
- Battery:Two 2,000mAh rechargeable batteries
- Charging time:1–2 hours
- Claimed runtime:Up to 4 hours
- Display:LCD battery level and cut count
- Included accessories:Replacement blade set, adapter, two wrenches, sharpening stone, manual, storage box
Our verdict“Choose this model over the SEESII if cut-count and battery readouts matter more to you than its hard case and listed glove.”
FUTRRA Electric Pruning Shears
FUTRRA keeps its offer focused: a 1.2-inch cutting limit, a rechargeable battery, and a safety lock in a compact, one-handed tool. That makes it a plausible fit for routine shaping and smaller branches, especially for buyers who would rather avoid the battery-platform question raised by the DeWalt-compatible shears. A carrying case and replacement blade are included, and the design is listed as ambidextrous.
The capacity is more restricted than the CRAFTSMAN V20’s 1.25 inches and far below the 1.4-inch SEESII or 1.8-inch DeWalt-compatible option. Despite the lightweight, ergonomic description, the listed weight is 2.2 pounds, a meaningful drawback for long pruning sessions or repeated overhead cuts. Product details also do not provide battery capacity or cut count, limiting planning for larger jobs. I’d choose it for simpler pruning, not heavy or all-day work.
Pros:- Rechargeable battery and charger are included.
- Safety lock helps prevent accidental activation.
- Ambidextrous design supports use with either hand.
- Includes a carrying case and replacement blade.
Cons:- Maximum cutting diameter is 1.2 inches, lower than the CRAFTSMAN V20 and SEESII options.
- Listed weight of 2.2 pounds may feel heavy during extended use.
- Battery capacity and cuts per charge are not specified in the product data.
Best for: Home gardeners making occasional one-handed cuts on branches up to 1.2 inches who want a battery and case included.
Not ideal for: People pruning thicker branches or working for long stretches, since capacity is limited and the listed weight is 2.2 pounds.
- Model:Eps-01
- Maximum cutting diameter:1.2 inches
- Blade type:Bypass
- Blade material:Hardened steel and stainless steel
- Blade length:1.5 inches
- Item weight:2.2 pounds
- Dimensions:8 × 3.5 inches
- Hand orientation:Ambidextrous
- Included components:Pruning shears, rechargeable battery, charger, carrying case, replacement blade
Our verdict“Pick FUTRRA for occasional smaller-branch pruning with a self-contained kit, but choose the CRAFTSMAN or SEESII for greater cutting capacity.”
VOTREK Electric Pruning Shears with Battery
The VOTREK stands out for combining a 0.71-inch setting for smaller stems with a stated maximum cut of 1.6 inches. That range gives it more flexibility than the MODOFO 1.4-inch model, though the MODOFO includes two batteries and specifies a charging time and claimed runtime—details absent here. VOTREK’s 600W brushless motor, battery-and-cut-count display, and double-click safety lock make the feature set appealing for varied pruning sessions. The kit also includes a battery, adapter, gloves, and storage bag, so the basic equipment is covered. The main uncertainty is practical: battery runtime and charge time are unspecified, and the product data gives two different weights. I’d choose it for its cutting range, not for predictable all-day battery planning.
Pros:- Two cutting settings cover delicate trimming and branches up to a stated 1.6 inches.
- 600W brushless motor is designed to reduce heat buildup and maintenance.
- Display shows battery level and cut count.
- Includes battery, adapter, safety gloves, and storage bag.
Cons:- Battery runtime and charging time are not specified.
- Listed weight differs between the item details and description.
- The 1.6-inch capacity is a stated maximum, not a guarantee for every wood type.
Best for: Gardeners pruning both smaller growth and branches approaching 1.6 inches who want two cutting settings and an on-tool status display.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a known battery runtime, charging schedule, or reliable weight figure before choosing a tool.
- Motor:600W brushless
- Blade material:Teflon-coated SK5 high-carbon steel
- Cutting modes:0.71 inches and up to 1.6 inches
- Blade type:Bypass
- Display:Battery level and cut count
- Safety feature:Double-click safety lock
- Weight:Listed as 2.6 lb item weight and 1.81 lb in description
- Included components:Pruner, battery, charger/adapter, safety gloves, storage bag
Our verdict“Choose the VOTREK if its wider stated cutting range matters more to you than having documented battery-runtime figures.”
MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with LCD Display, 1.4-Inch Cutting Capacity, and Two Batteries
The MODOFO earns a distinct place for buyers who value a more clearly specified battery setup over maximum cutting reach. Its two 2,000 mAh batteries are listed with a 1–2-hour charge time and up to four hours of claimed runtime, giving you more planning information than the VOTREK, whose runtime and charging time are unstated. The 0.98- and 1.4-inch settings suit routine pruning, but they fall short of the VOTREK’s 1.6-inch maximum and the larger-capacity MODOFO model’s 2.1-inch setting. An LCD tracks battery level and cut count, while the case, sharpening stone, and wrenches add practical maintenance support. Its ceiling is the tradeoff: this is a measured choice for moderate branches, not the lineup’s pick for thick limbs.
Pros:- Two 2,000 mAh batteries provide a backup while the other battery is charging.
- Two cutting settings adapt the tool to smaller stems and cuts up to 1.4 inches.
- LCD displays battery level and cut count.
- Includes a storage case, adapter, sharpening stone, and two wrenches.
Cons:- Maximum stated capacity is lower than the VOTREK and the 2.1-inch MODOFO model.
- Up to four hours is a claimed runtime, not a guaranteed duration for every workload.
- Requires a double press of the trigger to activate.
Best for: Home gardeners with regular medium-duty pruning who want two batteries, a storage case, and stated charging and runtime estimates.
Not ideal for: People tackling larger branches near or above 1.4 inches, or buyers who prefer activation without a double trigger press.
- Motor:450W brushless
- Cutting capacity:Up to 1.4 inches
- Adjustable cutting sizes:0.98 inches and 1.4 inches
- Blade material:SK5 high-carbon steel
- Batteries:Two 2,000 mAh batteries
- Charging time:1–2 hours
- Claimed runtime:Up to 4 hours
- Display:LCD with battery level and cut count
- Included accessories:Storage case, adapter, sharpening stone, two wrenches, instruction manual
Our verdict“Pick this MODOFO for moderate pruning and a better-documented two-battery routine, but look elsewhere for thicker branches.”
MODOFO Cordless Electric Pruning Shears, 2.1-Inch Cutting Capacity
Among these five, this MODOFO is the clearest choice when cutting capacity leads your checklist: it offers 1.6- and 2.1-inch modes, exceeding the VOTREK’s stated 1.6-inch maximum and the 1.4-inch MODOFO’s limit. The smaller setting gives you a less aggressive option for routine trimming, while the larger one targets thicker branches. Two 2.0 Ah batteries and an LCD with battery and cut-count information support longer work sessions, and the kit includes a replacement blade set and sharpening stone. The listing does not provide a charging time or runtime, so battery planning is less certain than with the 1.4-inch MODOFO. Its maximum capacity is also a stated limit; branch condition and wood type can affect what the shears can cut cleanly.
Pros:- Selectable 1.6- and 2.1-inch cutting modes offer the largest stated capacity in this group.
- Includes two rechargeable 2.0 Ah batteries.
- LCD reports battery level and cutting count.
- Replacement blade set and sharpening stone support upkeep.
Cons:- Battery runtime and charging time are not specified.
- Requires a double trigger press to activate or wake from sleep mode.
- The 2.1-inch maximum may not suit every wood type or branch condition.
Best for: Gardeners and small-property owners who regularly prune thicker branches and want two batteries plus a spare blade set.
Not ideal for: Buyers focused on documented charge and runtime estimates, or those whose pruning is mostly small stems and light growth.
- Cutting modes:1.6 inches and 2.1 inches
- Motor:Brushless
- Batteries:Two rechargeable 2.0 Ah batteries
- Blade type:Bypass
- Blade material:High-carbon steel
- Display:LCD showing battery level and cutting counts
- Hand orientation:Ambidextrous
- Included accessories:Replacement blade set, adapter, two wrenches, sharpening stone, instruction manual, storage box
Our verdict“Choose this MODOFO when thicker-branch capacity matters more than having published battery-runtime details.”
ANTTCTIG Cordless Electric Pruning Shears with 2 Batteries and Spare Blade
The ANTTCTIG is the strongest fit here for buyers seeking a substantial stated opening and a more explicit battery-use claim. Its two settings, 1.97 and 2.56 inches, reach beyond the 2.1-inch MODOFO’s stated maximum, while the manufacturer lists up to five hours of runtime. That figure is a claim rather than a guarantee, but it gives buyers more guidance than the VOTREK or larger-capacity MODOFO provides. Two 2.0 Ah batteries, a replacement blade, and a carrying case round out the kit; the silicone-wrapped handle is intended to reduce vibration and hand fatigue. I’d hesitate if blade material certainty matters: the listing names SK7 in one place and SK5 in another. Its larger opening is useful, but it does not remove the need to match cuts to branch condition.
Pros:- Two adjustable openings reach a stated maximum of 2.56 inches.
- Two 2.0 Ah batteries are included, with runtime claimed up to five hours.
- Silicone-wrapped handle is designed to reduce vibration and hand fatigue.
- Kit includes a replacement blade, carrying case, tools, and sharpening stone.
Cons:- Blade material is inconsistent in the listing: SK7 is described, while SK5 also appears in product information.
- The up-to-five-hour runtime is a claim and will depend on use.
- Sleep mode after about one minute of inactivity may interrupt stop-and-start work.
Best for: Gardeners planning extended pruning sessions who want two batteries, a spare blade, and a large stated cutting opening.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need consistent blade-material specifications or prefer a tool with a clearly verified runtime rather than a claimed figure.
- Adjustable opening sizes:1.97 inches and 2.56 inches
- Motor:Brushless
- Blade type:Bypass
- Blade material:SK7 stated in description; SK5 also stated in product information
- Batteries:Two rechargeable 2.0 Ah batteries
- Claimed runtime:Up to 5 hours
- Weight:2.33 lb with battery
- Display:LED battery level and cutting count
- Safety feature:Sleep mode after about 1 minute of inactivity
Our verdict“Choose the ANTTCTIG for a large stated opening and a two-battery kit, provided the conflicting blade-material details do not put you off.”
SEESII 2-in-1 Cordless Electric Pole Pruning Shears, 1.6-Inch Cutting Capacity
The SEESII’s defining advantage is not cutting capacity—it is reach without a separate pole tool. It switches between handheld and pole modes, extends from 4.9 to 9 feet, and has a 180-degree rotating head for positioning cuts overhead or at an angle. That makes it more specialized than the ANTTCTIG, whose 2.56-inch opening is better suited to thicker reachable branches, and the VOTREK, which offers a simpler handheld setup. SEESII’s 1.6-inch cutting capacity is more modest, and the complete kit weighs 6.4 pounds, a real tradeoff for repeated overhead work. Two 4.0Ah batteries and a spare SK5 blade support longer sessions, but the pole format makes this the pick for access, not the lightest handling.
Pros:- Switches between handheld and telescopic pole pruning.
- Pole extends from 4.9 to 9 feet, with a 180-degree rotating head for positioning.
- Two 4.0Ah batteries and a spare SK5 blade are included.
- Four cutting modes provide options for different pruning tasks.
Cons:- Stated cutting capacity is limited to 1.6 inches, below the ANTTCTIG and 2.1-inch MODOFO.
- The complete kit weighs 6.4 pounds, which can make extended overhead work tiring.
- The pole configuration adds bulk compared with handheld-only shears.
Best for: Homeowners with elevated or awkwardly positioned branches who want one tool that can work handheld and on an adjustable pole.
Not ideal for: Buyers who mainly prune thick branches at ground level or want a light, compact handheld shear for frequent overhead use.
- Cutting capacity:1.6 inches
- Pole length:4.9–9 feet
- Rotating head:180 degrees
- Cutting modes:4
- Motor:Brushless
- Batteries:Two 4.0Ah batteries
- Blade material:High-carbon SK5 steel
- Weight:6.4 lb
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick the SEESII when reaching elevated branches is the main problem, not when maximum cutting capacity or compact handling comes first.”

How We Picked
I organized the ranking around the decisions that change how an electric pruner works in a real garden: stated cutting capacity, battery and charger inclusions, tool-platform compatibility, reach, and whether the product adds useful versatility. I also weighed practical ownership factors such as replacement blades, expected maintenance, handling demands, and how clearly the tool’s role matches a common pruning task. A higher capacity can be useful for thicker branches, but it does not automatically make a tool the best choice for frequent, controlled cuts.
The DEWALT 20V MAX kit leads because it combines a named battery platform with a supplied battery and charger, making its setup comparatively clear. The CRAFTSMAN kit ranks as a compelling platform alternative; wider-cut models, pole pruners, and the chainsaw combo rank for more specific needs rather than broad everyday use. Multi-battery bundles can be attractive for longer sessions, while compact 1.4-inch models favor lighter-duty work. Product claims alone do not establish runtime, durability, or cutting performance across wood types, so I treat stated specifications as selection clues rather than guarantees.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Electric Pruning Shears
Choosing electric pruning shears starts with the work you actually do, not the largest capacity printed on a listing. I would match branch size, daily cut volume, access, and battery ownership before weighing extras. These factors help separate a practical garden tool from a feature set you may not use.
Match Cutting Capacity to Branches You Prune Often
Use the rated cutting capacity as a boundary, not a promise that every branch at that diameter will cut cleanly. Wood hardness, dryness, branch shape, and blade condition all affect the effort a cut requires. If most of your work involves young growth and shrubs, a compact model may be easier to control than a larger-capacity tool. For mature branches, choose a rating that leaves room above your usual diameter rather than repeatedly asking the tool to work at its limit. A saw may suit branches beyond a shear’s practical range, but it produces a different cut and calls for different handling. Avoid forcing a blade through oversized wood; that can strain the tool and leave a poor cut.”
Compare Battery Ownership, Not Just Battery Count
A kit with its own battery and charger is convenient when you are starting from scratch, while a compatible bare tool can reduce duplication if you already own batteries from the same platform. Check the exact battery system and compatibility claim rather than assuming batteries with similar voltage labels are interchangeable. Two included batteries can reduce interruptions during a long session, but they also mean another battery to store and maintain. Battery capacity, charging time, and manufacturer support affect ownership as much as the number in the box. For occasional pruning, a single battery may be enough; for a large orchard or extended cleanup, a second can be more useful. Do not infer runtime from battery count alone, since cutting frequency and wood conditions vary.”
Choose Handheld or Pole Reach Around Your Work Area
Handheld shears offer direct control for cuts close to the body, where you can see the branch and position the blade carefully. A pole model can reduce ladder use for reachable overhead growth, but added length changes balance and can make precise positioning harder. Before choosing one, consider the height and density of the canopy, how often you will work overhead, and whether the tool can be stored and transported comfortably. Pole reach does not make every high cut safe; avoid unstable footing and overhead work near power lines. If most pruning happens at waist height, a pole adds bulk without much benefit. For regular high branches, compare pole length and head positioning details rather than treating reach as a single number.”
Treat Included Blades and Maintenance as Ownership Costs
Pruning blades need cleaning and sharpening or replacement, especially after cutting sap-heavy or diseased material. A supplied spare blade can reduce downtime, but it only helps if replacements remain available and are straightforward to fit. Check whether the product description identifies compatible blades and gives clear maintenance instructions. Keeping blades clean helps limit sap buildup, while a sharp edge supports cleaner cuts and reduces unnecessary strain. A display may show useful status information, but it does not replace routine inspection of the blade and fasteners. Buyers who prune frequently should prioritize a clear service path over extras that are hard to maintain.”
Decide Whether Extras Fit the Job or Add Complexity
LCD displays, brushless motors, spare parts, and multi-tool combinations can be useful, but each should solve a need you actually have. A display may make battery or tool status easier to check, while a brushless motor describes the motor design rather than guaranteeing a particular result in your garden. A chainsaw-and-shear combo can cover varied tasks, yet it is bulkier and less focused than a dedicated pruner. For occasional detail work, a simple tool with a comfortable grip may be easier to manage. For varied property maintenance, added functions could reduce the need to switch tools. Compare the safety instructions, maintenance demands, and included accessories before paying attention to feature count.”
Prioritize Control and Safety Alongside Speed
Powered blades can make repeated cuts faster, but they also close with little effort, so hand placement and trigger habits matter. Check whether the model has a safety switch, trigger sequence, or other controls, and read the specific operating instructions before use. Grip shape, tool weight, and balance affect control over a long session, even when cutting capacity looks generous. Wear appropriate eye and hand protection, keep the free hand away from the blade path, and stop the tool before clearing debris or adjusting a blade. New users may prefer a simpler handheld model that is easier to position and inspect. A fast tool is only useful if you can make deliberate cuts safely.”
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a larger cutting capacity than the branches I usually prune?
A modest capacity buffer can help when branches vary in size, but choosing the largest rating by default can add weight or bulk without improving routine work. First identify the diameter and wood type you cut most often, then compare that with the stated capacity. Treat the figure as a limit under suitable conditions, not a guarantee for every species or branch shape. If a branch is beyond the tool’s rating, use a suitable saw rather than forcing the shear. For a mixed garden, separate frequent pruning from occasional heavy cuts and choose tools accordingly.
Is a kit with a battery and charger a better choice than a compatible bare tool?
A complete kit is usually simpler if you do not own compatible batteries, since it provides the core charging setup in one purchase. A bare tool can make more sense when you already have batteries from the exact supported platform and want to avoid duplicate equipment. Confirm the model’s compatibility details before relying on an existing battery; similar branding or voltage does not prove a fit. Also check whether the kit includes the charger and which battery capacity is supplied. For long pruning sessions, the option to use additional batteries may matter more than the initial bundle.
Are two batteries worth choosing for occasional home pruning?
For a few short seasonal tasks, one battery may be enough, and a second can sit unused for much of the year. Two batteries become more useful when you prune many trees or shrubs in one session and do not want to pause for charging. Battery storage and care matter: follow the maker’s guidance and avoid leaving batteries in unsuitable temperatures. Compare the battery capacity and charging setup, not just the count in the package. If your workload is small, spending attention on comfortable handling and blade maintenance may pay off more than a spare battery.
When does a pole pruner make more sense than handheld electric shears?
A pole pruner is worth considering when you regularly need to reach branches above comfortable hand height and want to avoid routine ladder use. It is less appealing for ground-level work, where the extra length can make close, precise cuts harder to position. Check the working reach, head angle, overall handling, and any guidance for overhead use before choosing one. A pole tool does not remove the need for stable footing or safe distance from electrical lines. If high branches are infrequent or especially thick, a different tool or a qualified tree-care service may be a better fit.
Can electric pruning shears replace a pruning saw or manual shears?
They can reduce hand effort for repeated cuts that fall within their rated capacity, but they do not replace every cutting tool. A pruning saw is more suitable for larger branches outside a shear’s range, while manual shears can offer lighter handling for occasional small cuts. Powered shears also require battery charging, blade care, and attention to trigger safety. A property with varied plants may benefit from keeping more than one tool available. Choose the electric model for the work it can handle reliably rather than expecting one tool to cover every branch size.
Conclusion
My best overall pick is the DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Pruner Kit for buyers who want a complete setup on a named battery platform. For best value by ownership fit, I would look first at the DeWalt-compatible 1.8-inch model if compatible batteries are already in your shed; otherwise, compare the included-battery bundles and spare-blade options. The DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN kits are the clearest best premium-style choices for buyers who prefer established battery systems, while the Saker, SEESII, or other straightforward 1.4-inch models make more sense for beginners handling routine pruning. Choose the MODOFO 2.1-inch model for higher stated capacity, a pole model for elevated reach, or the Seesii combo when you want both shears and a mini chainsaw. Match the tool to your most frequent cuts, and do not pay for capacity or accessories your garden rarely needs.


















